The Guidelines are voluntary in nature, but primarily aim to guide ASEAN Member States to enact binding laws and regulations. In addition to policymakers, agribusiness investors, financial institutions, have essential roles to play.


There are 10 Guidelines of the ASEAN RAI. Each has two parts: 1) what and why each principle is important, and 2) how ASEAN Member States and other stakeholders should take action on those principles.

2. Economic development

3. Women &
young people

4. Tenure

5. Natural


6. Technology

7. Climate


8. Rule of law & governance

9. Impact assessment
& accountability 

10. Regional approaches

© 2020 Grow Asia | The ASEAN Guidelines for Responsible Investment in Food, Agriculture and Forestry